Dorset councils to be merged into two authorities

We are delighted to see that a decision has been made by the Secretary of State for Housing, Communities and Local Government Sajid Javid MP, to merge the Local Governments within Dorset. 

This much anticipated and needed plan will see Bournemouth, Poole and Christchurch councils replaced with a single unitary council covering the whole conurbation area. Similarly in other parts of Dorset, Dorset County Council and the district councils of East Dorset, North Dorset, Purbeck, West Dorset and Weymouth and Portland will be replaced by a second unitary council.

The merger will see that resources and funds are distributed efficiently to where they are most needed within local communities, in turn ensuring the most effective delivery of local services to residents. Moreover, the strategic advantage of this merger means that our Councillors will be better equipped to ensure the prosperity of Bournemouth, Poole and Christchurch, by combining the knowledge, experience, skills and resources of the individual three councils.

We look forward to what the future brings!…